Code of Silence (1985)

Code of Silence (1985)

Taglines: The toughest cop in the world… just got tougher.

Eddie Cusack is a Chicago police officer about to bust some members of the Comacho gang when the gang is shot up by a rival drug gang from the neighboring building, led by Tony Luna. Victor Comacho is the only survivor of the Comacho gang and his older brother, Luis, who is the leader of the gang, retaliates by killing Luna’s family and kidnaps Luna’s daughter, Diana.

Cusack must face Tony Luna and Luis Comacho alone because nobody on the police force is willing to help him since he was the only cop who broke the code of silence by testifying against a fellow cop who killed an unarmed teenager, but Cusack is not really alone. A police robot called “Prowler” aides Cusack as he takes down the gangs.

Code of Silence is a 1985 American action film directed by Andrew Davis, and starring Chuck Norris, Henry Silva, Dennis Farina and Molly Hagan. The film was released in the United States on May 3, 1985.

It was an atypical film for Norris, whose previous ones had been known more for his martial-arts skill. A crime drama, it was filmed on location in Chicago with a few sub-plots. It features Norris as Sgt. Eddie Cusack, a streetwise plainclothes officer who takes down a crime czar responsible for officers being wounded in a botched drug raid. In the film’s climax, Norris teams with a crime-fighting robot named “Prowler.”

Dennis Farina was an actual Chicago police officer during the making of this film, moonlighting before becoming a full-time actor when cast in the leading role of Michael Mann’s 1986 television series, Crime Story.

Code of Silence Movie Poster (1985)

Code of Silence (1985)

Directed by: Andrew Davis
Starring: Chuck Norris, Henry Silva, Molly Hagan, Bert Remsen, Mike Genovese, Allen Hamilton, Joe Guzaldo, Dennis Farina, Mario Nieves
Screenplay by: Michael Butler, Dennis Shryack
Production Design by: Maher Ahmad
Cinematography by: Frank Tidy
Film Editing by: Christopher Holmes, Peter Parasheles
Set Decoration by: Karen O’Hara
Music by: David Michael Frank
Distributed by: Orion Pictures
Release Date: May 3, 1985