The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas (1982)

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas (1982)

Taglines: With Burt and Dolly this much fun just couldn’t be legal!

Founded in 1910 just outside of the city limits of Gilbert located in Lanville County, Texas, the Chicken Ranch has for generations been known as the best whorehouse in Texas for its wholesome fun, strict moral code and cleanliness, all perpetuated by its original owner, Miss Wulla Jean. Seven years ago, Miss Wulla Jean passed on, leaving the Chicken Ranch to her favorite working girl, Miss Mona Stangley, who wants to keep the same traditions of Miss Wulla Jean.

The Chicken Ranch has always had the unofficial blessing of the local authorities, who see the ranch providing an important community service, one which most in local authority have used at one time or another in their life. In fact, Miss Mona and Lanville County Sheriff Ed Earl Dodd have been in a relationship for years, Ed Earl who is Miss Mona’s protector, albeit one with a hot temper and good ol’ boy attitude that doesn’t exactly match the needs of his law upholding position.

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas is a 1982 American musical comedy film co-written, produced and directed by Colin Higgins (in his final film as director). It is an adaptation of the 1978 Broadway musical of the same name, and stars Dolly Parton, Burt Reynolds, Jim Nabors, Charles Durning, Dom DeLuise, Noah Beery, Jr., Robert Mandan, Lois Nettleton, Theresa Merritt, Barry Corbin, Mary Jo Catlett and Mary Louise Wilson.

Durning was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor for his role as the Texas governor. Golden Globe nominations went to the film for Best Motion Picture (Comedy or Musical) and Parton for Best Actress in a Motion Picture (Comedy or Musical). It was the fourth highest-grossing live-action musical film of the 1980s.

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas Movie Poster (1982)

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas (1982)

Directed by: Colin Higgins
Starring: Burt Reynolds, Dolly Parton, Dom DeLuise, Charles Durning, Jim Nabors, Lois Nettleton, Theresa Merritt, Raleigh Bond
Screenplay by: Larry L. King, Peter Masterson, Colin Higgins
Production Design by: Robert F. Boyle
Cinematography by: William A. Fraker
Film Editing by: David Bretherton, Nicholas Eliopoulos, Walter Hannemann, Pembroke J. Herring, Jack Hofstra
Costume Design by: Theadora Van Runkle
Set Decoration by: Arthur Jeph Parker
Art Direction by; Norman Newberry
Music by; Carol Hall, Patrick Williams
Distributed by: Universal Pictures
Release Date: July 23, 1982